AuthorsPoemsEssays & Short StoriesAudioILL Book Request
ILL Article Request
William BradfordAnne BradstreetWilliam Cullen BryantWilliam ByrdKate ChopinJames Fenimore CooperEmily DickinsonFrederick DouglassJonathan EdwardsT. S. EliotRalph Waldo EmersonOlaudah EquianoRobert FrostNathaniel HawthorneOliver Wendell HolmesWashington IrvingHarriet JacobsThomas JeffersonAbraham LincolnJack LondonAmy LowellCotton MatherHerman MelvilleArthur MillerMarianne MooreThomas PaineEdgar Allan PoeEzra PoundEdwin Arlington RobinsonMary RowlandsonCarl SandburgLeslie Marmon SilkoEdward TaylorHenry David ThoreauMark TwainEdith WhartonWalt WhitmanThornton WilderRed Jacket
This is the "ENGL 2130 American Literature" page of the "ENGL 2130 American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 2130 American Literature   Tags: english, literary_criticism, literature  

A survey of important works in American literature.
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.chattahoocheetech.edu/ENGL2130 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

ENGL 2130 American Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CTC Library Catalog

Find materials at all CTC Campus Libraries, including electronic full-text books and Films on Demand videos::
Topic or subject:
Library:
 

GALILEO Search

Enter GALILEO password:



and search Literature and Literary Criticism.
 

Your Introduction to Library Resources

Welcome!  This guide will assist you in finding information on using library resources at Chattahoochee Technical College for ENGL 2130 American Literature.  Please select one of the tabs above to begin exploring library resources.  
Note: Items in the library on any campus may be requested and will be sent to your home campus library for your use. 


Primary Sources

"Primary sources are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, speeches, interviews, memoirs, documents produced by government agencies such as Congress or the Office of the President, photographs, audio recordings, moving pictures or video recordings, research data, and objects or artifacts such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons. These sources serve as the raw material to interpret the past, and when they are used along with previous interpretations by historians, they provide the resources necessary for historical research." ALA - American Library Association

  • Ancestry.com (only available on campus)
    Ancestry has the UK and USA census. The census can give you a fascinating look at who lived with whom and what they did for a living!
  • Annals of American History (need GALILEO password)
    Annals of American History includes the full text of primary documents in American history, including historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials, landmark court decisions, and cultural criticism.
  • Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive (need GALILEO password)
    Newspapers are not usually a primary source but they give the view of those close to the event. The Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to fourteen newspaper titles published in Atlanta from 1847 to 1922.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
    Newspapers are not usually a primary source but they give the view of those close to the event. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

  • FBI : Vault
    The Vault is our new electronic reading room, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office.

    Included here are many new files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on our site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous electronic reading room, and new, previously unreleased files.
  • Infotopia : Primary Sources
    15 web sites that access primary sources
  • Macon Telegraph Archive (Georgia Historical Newspapers: Macon Telegraph) need GALILEO password
    Newspapers are not usually a primary source but they give the view of those close to the event. 1826-1908. Launched just three years after the city of Macon was incorporated, the Macon Telegraph provides an inside view into the initial years of the city's growth. Macon's central location within the state provided the paper with a unique perspective of the news through a period when middle Georgia was both geographically and politically a focal point of the state
  • National Archives : Finding Primary Sources
    Resources aimed at teachers who want their students to use primary sources.
  • Teaching with documents from the National Archives

Librarian Guide

Profile Image
Jeff Fisher
Contact Info
Chattahoochee Technical College Library
Canton Campus
1645 Bluffs Parkway
Canton, GA 30114
770-345-1390
Send Email
 

Get the Passwords

Students may access all passwords by starting on the CTC page

 - Select the Quicklinks tab (upper right hand corner)

- Select Library

- Select CTC Library Catalog

- Log in with your Student ID# and your Banner password

- Select My Account (middle of the gray bar)

- Select Passwords for Library Resources link

- All the passwords are there.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip